Ailyn Pérez is a featured artist at this year’s Richard Tucker Gala Concert, hosted at Carnegie Hall on October 27. The historic annual event will honor 2019 Richard Tucker winner Lisette Oropesa. Widely referred to as the “Heisman Trophy of Opera,” the Tucker Award is conferred each year by a panel of opera industry professionals on an American singer at the threshold of a significant international career. The program features iconic arias and ensemble pieces led by Maestro James Gaffigan with members of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and the New York Choral Society.

Ms. Pérez joins a fantastic list of opera luminaries, including sopranos Angel Blue and Ermonela Jaho; mezzo-soprano Jamie Barton; tenors Michael Fabiano and Stephen Costello; baritones Lucas Meachem and Artur Ruciński; and bass-baritone Christian Van Horn. In 2012, Ailyn was the recipient of this prestigious award, making her the first Hispanic singer to receive the award in its 34-year history. Learn more about this historic recognition via Opera News.