American soprano Ailyn Pérez earned yet another honor on Wednesday when she was named the winner of the 15th annual Plácido Domingo Award. The prestigious award, personally given by Maestro Domingo to an artist of his choosing, celebrates the accomplishments of Hispanic artists as well as those who contribute to the awareness of opera and its educational value in the Latino community of Los Angeles. Earlier this year, Pérez also won the namesake award of one of the other legendary tenors in opera’s history – the 2012 Richard Tucker Award. Born in Chicago to Mexican parents, Pérez is the first Hispanic singer to receive the Richard Tucker Award in its 34-year history.

Pérez performed at this year’s annual Richard Tucker Music Foundation Gala at Avery Fisher Hall on November 11, which was recently broadcast as part of the Emmy Award-winning Live From Lincoln Center series on PBSLive from Lincoln Center: The Richard Tucker Opera Gala, which includes a feature on Pérez and backstage access to the artists in addition to selections from the musical performance, is now available for streaming both in the US and internationally on Live From Lincoln Center’s website.

The Plácido Domingo Award is the only one bearing the great tenor’s name; it is given annually by Hispanics for LA Opera, which supports LA Opera’s internationally acclaimed educational and community programming. Past winners of the award include: Chilean writer Antonio Skármeta; Spanish opera director Emilio Sagi; singers Nancy Herrera, Juan Diego Flórez, Juan Pons, Cristina Gallardo Domas, Rolando Villazón, Erwin Schrott, Veronica Villarroel, Ana María Martínez, Aquiles Machado, and Ramón Vargas; and the late composer Daniel Catán.